The Evolution of CySA+: From CS0-002 to CS0-003 - What You Need to Know

  Edina  06-23-2023

The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) certification is an important certification for cyber professionals tasked with incident detection, prevention, and response through continuous security monitoring. The CySA+ certification is available in two versions, the CS0-002, and the newly available CS0-003 exam. The CS0-002 exam will be retired on December 5, 2023. PassQuestion has newly updated CompTIA CySA+CS0-002 questions and answers to help you pass your exam easily. These CompTIA CySA+CS0-002 questions and answers are designed to reflect the content of the CS0-002 exam and cover all the key topics that you need to know in order to pass the exam.

Please note that the CS0-003 exam will be released soon, and PassQuestion will release updated questions and answers to reflect the content of the new exam.

Differences between the CS0-002 and CS0-003 CySA+ Exam

The new CS0-003 exam is designed to test the latest skills and knowledge required for cybersecurity analysts. Here are some of the key differences between the CS0-002 and CS0-003 exams:

  1. Content Updates: The CS0-003 exam has been updated to include the latest cybersecurity techniques, tools, and technologies. This includes updates in threat intelligence, vulnerability management, threat management, and incident response.
  1. Performance-Based Questions: The new CS0-003 exam includes more performance-based questions, which require the test-takers to demonstrate their skills in real-world scenarios.
  1. Emphasis on Hands-on Experience:The CS0-003 exam emphasizes hands-on experience in cybersecurity. Candidates will be expected to have practical experience in order to pass the exam.
  1. Increased Focus on Cloud Security:The new exam places a greater emphasis on cloud security, reflecting the increasing importance of cloud computing in modern IT infrastructure.
  1. Greater Emphasis on Automation and Orchestration: The CS0-003 exam focuses more on automation and orchestration in cybersecurity, reflecting the increasing use of these technologies in modern cybersecurity operations.

Exam Overview of the CS0-002 and CS0-003 CySA+ Exam

Exam Codes CS0-002 CS0-003
Launch Date November 12, 2020 November 1, 2023
Exam Description The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) certification verifies that successful candidates have the knowledge and skills required to leverage intelligence and threat detection techniques, analyze and interpret data, identify and address vulnerabilities, suggest preventative measures, and effectively respond to and recover from incidents. The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) certification verifies that successful candidates have the knowledge and skills required to detect and analyze indicators of malicious activity, understand threat intelligence and threat management, respond to attacks and vulnerabilities, perform incident response, and report and communicate related activity.
Number of Questions Maximum of 90 questions Maximum of 85 questions
Type of Questions Multiple choice and performance-based Multiple choice and performance-based
Length of Test 165 minutes 165 minutes
Passing Score 750 (on a scale of 100-900) 750 (on a scale of 100-900)
Required Experience No experience is required to take the exam No experience is required to take the exam
Languages English, Japanese English, Japanese
Retirement December 5th, 2023 TBD, likely October 1st, 2026
Testing Provider Pearson VUETesting Centers Online Testing Pearson VUETesting Centers Online Testing
Exam Price CompTIA Store Price $392 USDCyberkraft Price $345 USD CompTIA Store Price $392 USDCyberkraft Price $345 USD

Changes to the CySA+ Domains from CS0-002 to CS0-003

CompTIA CySA+ CS0-002 Exam Domains CompTIA CySA+ CS0-003 Exam Domains

1) Threat and Vulnerability Management

2) Software and Systems Security

3) Security operations and Monitoring

4) Incident Response

5) Compliance and Assessment

1) Security Operations

2) Vulnerability Management

3) Incident Response and Management

4) Reporting and Communication

The most obvious change between the exams is the reduction of the number of test domains from five to four. Every existing domain was completely changed in some way. This new CySA+ version 003 is one of the most extreme changes to a certification exam that our Cyberkraft team has ever seen.

Domain 1 Security Operations

Security Operations has been changed from domain 3 to domain 1. This new domain emphasizes the correct analysis of malicious activity. This domain teaches how to use security tools such as Security Information and Event Management (SIEM), Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR), and Security Orchestration Automation, and Response (SOAR) and how to incorporate these into network architectures.

The Security Operations domain also focuses on identifying threat groups and Advanced Persistent Threats (APTs). Students will also learn how to identify threats and malicious activity. The content also includes the identification of specific malicious code strings.

In version CS0-002, threats and vulnerabilities were taught simultaneously, both included in Domain 1. Now, threats are taught in Domain 1 while vulnerabilities are discussed in Domain 2.

Domain 2 Vulnerability Management

This domain now heavily focuses on the use of software tools for vulnerability assessment. Students will be expected to understand the basic functionality of various software tools such as Burp Suite, Maltego, Arachni, Nessus, OpenVAS, Prowler, Metasploit, and Recon-NG. The exam will include practical questions to test candidates’ ability to correctly configure these tools.

Domain section 2.4 requires students to understand web application vulnerabilities. This section draws heavily from the Open Worldwide Application Security Project (OWASP) Top 10 list of web application vulnerabilities.

Notably, the amount of content on the exam focused on Governance, Risk, and Compliance (GRC) has been drastically reduced.

Domain 3 Incident Response and Management

Domain 3 is closely tied to Domain 4, both of which focus on Incident Response techniques. Domain 3 tests students’ knowledge of penetration testing frameworks, MITRE ATT&CK, the Diamond Model of Intrusion Analysis, and the Cyber Kill Chain. Students must understand how to properly manage incidents and respond to those incidents through containment, eradication, and recovery.

Digital Forensics is a major concept in this domain. Students are required to understand the chain of custody and must demonstrate the ability to properly analyze and preserve digital evidence. Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery are also a main focus in this domain, particularly in the context of preparing a SOC for continued operations.

Domain 4 Reporting and Communication

Domain 4 is the shortest domain with only two sections. It could even be considered a continuation of Domain 3 as its main focus is on incident response. Students must understand reporting concepts such as what data to report to which stakeholders. Students are also taught how to create an incident repose report which includes an executive summary, recommendations, timeline, impact, scope, and evidence.

Metrics are also a major focus in this domain. Students must understand how to measure Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), commonly used KPIs, and how to correctly report them.

Why is the change to the CySA+ exam important?

This update to the CySA+ exam brings major changes to the course content. Since the content is so much different from the previous version, students who have been studying the CS0-002 material will find their efforts wasted if they fail to take the CS0-002 exam before December 5th. After that date, students will need to learn the new CS0-003 material and only the 003 test will be available.

Leave And reply:

  TOP 50 Exam Questions